Busy day at the V&A…

20 04 2010

The title of this post rhymes, I know. I’m exhausted so I am hoping that it can excuse for the corny start to this entry 😉  I regrettably missed the chat session with the onliners today and wished that I had the ability to be in two places at once, but alas I am only a mortal man… I’m digressing again, sorry.

I spent most of the day at the V&A with Carol Tulloch from the TrAIN department to participate in a post-graduate seminar/discussion with some of the TrAIN MA and PhD cohort. I was assigned to make a presentation and discuss the work of Wade D. Shaw. Below is one of the archived works that I talked about that was created at the Atlas Computer Labratory in Chiltern, Buckinghamshire. The Atlas Computer Lab (established 1961) is described by the V&A as ‘historically one of the most important computer labarotories in the world.’ The print was created by a spark-pen capable of inputting graphical information into a digital computer using shock energy waves.

Wade, Shaw (1972), White Horse

Having previously been in contact with Honor Beddard (curator of the Digital Pioneers Exhibit) about an unauthored plotter drawing with the words of Jose Rizal’s text ‘Noli Me Tangere’ on it, and having joined the V&A’s Computer Arts Society, I had gained some prior (albiet elementary) understanding of the V&A’s digital art collection. I brought this to the table of discussions which led to group revisiting around the role(s) of the museum in regards to the collection of art.  Other issues of authorship, authenticity and circumventing institutional validation came up and I have filed these ideas away for later reflection when I have some time to better look at my art practice as a whole.

For now, I am very excited and stressed about the pending show. I am happy to see a few active members in the cohort are really picking up steam. Special thanks to Ina (http://inadorthea.wordpress.com/) for all the work she’s has been doing so far regarding the Degree Show.  After the gruelling seminar in South Kensington I used the opportunity to revist Earls Court to gather more fottage and take some shots. Carrying my tripod and full bulk of my photography kit with me I found myself setting up camp in certain spots outside leaving odds and ends strewn on the sidewalk as if it were my own personal studio. This led me to spend a lot of my time looking towards the ground, minding that pedestrians didn’t step on any of my equipment or notes. In this hectic situation I realized that the visual of people’s feet walking past a camera was sublimly perfect for showing movement. I dropped everything (except the cameras) and started filming foot traffic from foot level.  I am now looking over the footage and will compose something for the symposium in May.