Review of recent feedback

13 11 2012

I’m just going to jot down a little post-mortem regarding the tutorial I had with Mick and the feedback I received from Janis in order to tether some ideas that are floating around before they drift away as they most often do!  At the start of the month I submitted the first introductory paragraph for my thesis that read similar to an extended introduction. It was really a test pilot of ideas and a concerted attempt to really nail down an argument past the 2-4 page thesis proposals that I have been re-editing like a mouse trapped in a maze since I started at Goldsmiths. The result was a 20 page document that briefly talks about the main argument of my thesis and describes each chapter accordingly.

What I was able to hash out, was that I want to highlight the paradigm of an open source ethos that prioritizes decentralized, non-proprietary, equality and collaboration. This mandate is facilitated through growing accessibility of ICTs, and a shift towards viewing the internet, and consequently Web 2.0, as an arena of social communication thriving from user-content. This is in contrast to traditional information paradigms that involve resource content that is produced, edited and maintained by an expert elite. I am focusing on the ways in which the shift towards more open models works in nations and geographies with limited resources- mainly the Philippines.

A start anyhow.

After Janis’ valuable feedback, I realize that I will need to deepen my research in two ways. Firstly by basing my postcolonial theoretical framework around the seminal body of work by Edward Said, it may be insightful to look towards feminist critique of his theories. To start I will look at Orientalism and its Problems (Chisman et al., 1993) and see where this road will lead me! Secondly I want to spend more time looking at some of the initial artists in digital art that do not come from the essentialist caricature of ‘digital forefather’ as described by traditional museums such as  TATE Modern and the V&A. People to investigate include Leila Sujir and Lynn Heshman Leeson.

Frame Grab, Lungs with pelicans swimming, Leila Sujir, Bow River, Alberta © L. Sujir, 2008

After talking with Mick, I’m aware of the need to really meld my practice with my research. An interesting direction he proposed involved the review of the philosophy of appropriation in art. Obvious historical connections can be found of appropriation of African and Asian aesthetics in western art but I am very interested in the more contemporary mixing going on now with technology. A promising direction would be to look at sound art, plunderphonics, mashups etc and map how they’ve now transversed and have been reinterpreted visually. Postmodern theory from Fredric Jameson would also be useful to look at specifically in regards to his concept of the pastiche and what happens to materials once they’ve been recontextualized!

Well I think that’s all for now. A lot to digest, but not entirely unmanageable. I have my mother’s constitution. 😉

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

